It’s one of those places that always tops the-must-visit-city-list. It’s been immortalised in songs, in movies, in TV shows, in just about everything, and as Alicia says, it’s the concrete jungle where dreams are made of, and there’s nothing you can’t do.

Like most big cities, New York is bustling with energy. With more than 8 million people in its city alone, it’d be pretty hard to not get sucked in the vibrance of the place.
A short background of New York City:
It’s made up of 5 boroughs: Manhattan (New York County), The Bronx (Bronx County), Brooklyn (Kings County), Queens  (Queens County) and Staten Island (Richmond County).
Emma and I stayed in Manhattan where most of the iconic sights are located. Basically you can split Manhattan into 3 regions, Uptown, Midtown and Downtown. We were Uptown girls for the remainder of our week long but very jam-packed stay.  Below are some of the highlights of our trip in NY. Enjoy 🙂
For days we were searching high and low for this iconic LOVE sign.  So you can imagine how thrilled I was when we found it.  Didn’t matter that I was not wearing matching socks. Lol.
IMG_1078
Time Square on a normal day.
IMG_0691
IMG_0687
If I was living in New York, I’d buy fresh flowers everyday.  Here in Perth flowers are so expensive.IMG_0660
IMG_0671
Enjoying our breakfast at Metro Diner located at Upper West Side in Broadway.  Their sausages are the bomb.  I think that this is where our love affair with retro diners began.IMG_0672
After our very long and tiring road trip from Toronto, we were happy to meet up with my good friend Ian.  He treated us dinner at Josies West, which offers New American & French cuisine and some ice cold beer. Perfect.
DSC00115
Visited ground zero to pay our respects to the 911 victims. I was a bit worried I’ll be bawling my eyes out like I did when I visited the concentration camps in Auschwitz, Poland but the Freedom Tower has become more like a beacon of hope, a place of remembrance  and a symbol of the American’s resilience.
IMG_1025 Emma and I got lost trying to find Brooklyn Bridge but  stumbled upon this family owned pizza place in Brooklyn. I’ve eaten a lot of pizza from different countries but this one tops the list. So cheap but so yummy. Front Street Pizza apparently  kept the family recipe for the past 30 years. Aside from pizza, I ordered some pasta as well (I was feeding the fat kid inside). Unfortunately, I can’t say  the same for the root beer we ordered.
IMG_1032 On top of the Rockefeller Center which is located in midtown Manhattan.  It offers amazing views of NYC (you can see the Empire State building and get fantastic top views of Central Park).
DSC00131
 IMG_0964
IMG_0923
At the New York Yankee stadium for our very first baseball game match.  New York Yankees vs Boston Red Socks
DSC00142Note to self: My motto of style over comfort does not work in very cold weather conditions. I wore just a thin jumper inside my jacket (see pic on the right) and ended up buying a scarf, going home early and not finishing the game because I was freezing to death. Fortunately the New York Yankees won that game.
myDypticPicture
A trip to New York is not complete without watching a play. I was very lucky I secured front row seat tickets for the first few runs of Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I’m a massive fan of the movie and Audrey Hepburn. Emilia Clarke (from Game of Thrones) played the loveable Holly Golightly and she was delightful. DSC00158
We were so close, we could almost smell them 🙂 I was almost kicked out coz I was taking pictures but it was finished already and they we’re just bowing on stage. Geez.DSC00156
This photo doesn’t do Emilia Clarke justice, but she’s super gorgeous and extremely nice in person.DSC00159
Early morning job/walk at Central Park with Andrieu.  I think i was trying to do a jump shot here, hence the retarded face.IMG_1061
IMG_1066
IMG_1065
There was a fun run at Central Park going on that day, and I was basically running the opposite direction, like I would.
IMG_1071
 At The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). I can happily waste my time in here.IMG_1089
Reunited with my favourite painting by Jackson Pollock called Easter and the Totem (1953).  I first saw this on display when MoMA had a series of exhibits in The Art Gallery of Western Australia here in PerthIMG_1084
IMG_1096
Playing one of my favourite childhood game Pacman, in MoMA of all places. Beyond awesome.IMG_1128
Chelsea Highline
IMG_6608
IMG_1137
We needed a New Yorker to get us to Brooklyn Bridge hahaha. Anyway, we only packed one trench coat each, and so it looked liked we’re wearing the same clothes everyday but it was the thickest outfit we have. We didn’t expect NYC to be that cold early spring, but it wasn’t really practical to buy another trench coat when you’re traveling.IMG_6607
Thank you Andriue for patiently touring us around.
DSC00191
I love that I could leave my mark in NY ❤
IMG_2977
We met up with Michael for a little night tour round NY.
DSC00202
And had dinner at another iconic place, Katz’s Delicatessen. Yeah we get to sit where Harry and Sally sat too.
DSC00211
DSC00213
Emma and I can actually eat more than these two. Lame.
DSC00218
With my Uncle Robert and Aunt Mern who also spoiled us big time. My Uncle, ever the gentleman, carried our shopping bags, bless him.DSC00013
The Statue of Liberty tours were closed around the time of our visit so they took us all the way to New Jersey for an impromptu trip, just to get a glimpse of lady Liberty.DSC00027
DSC00030
New Jersey views of  New York skyscrapers. You can even see the unfinished Freedom Tower  🙂
DSC00040
Unfortunately it started raining and it got very windy and what happened next were captured in a series of blooper shots.
IMG_4060
Here at Empty Sky (Memorial). So lucky I got to explore these amazing places with my best friend and lil sister (from another mother and father), Emma.DSC00034
Special thanks to my Uncle Robert, Aunt Mern, Ian, Andriue and Michael for making our New York (and New Jersey) visit, extra special. Can’t wait to see you all again next year.
Laters
Geri
