So I was quite late to the party but after living in Western Australia for 13 years, I finally got around to visiting one of its famous tourist attraction’s, the weirdly amazing Wave Rock.

IMG_7006

I think it’s aptly named because this rock is so badass, you see Wave Rock is a natural rock formation shaped like a giant ocean wave. It also happens to be 2.63 billion years old and is said to have cultural significance to the Aborigines.

Anyway, Wave Rock is situated in Hyden, a small town 292 km east-southeast of Perth.  It’s approximately 4 hours drive from Perth, so you can easily plan it as a day trip.  Mind you there’s not much to see in Hyden other than Wave Rock so a day trip will suffice (unless you’re a geologist or you just really like rocks).

We left Perth around 7Am and I was lucky to tag along friends that day so I didn’t have to worry about driving and being fully awake on the road.  We did a few stops for toilet breaks and to stretch our legs, mine just happened to also include lying on the middle of the road and what not 🙂

 

Literally in the middle of nowhere. Wolf creek, anyone?

IMG_6830 IMG_6837

When we got to the town center, we decided to have lunch first. There’s a fairly decent size picnic area but we brought cooked food and snacks so I don’t know whether there’s a barbeque facility available.

IMG_6840

Macaron love
IMG_6845

From the picnic area it was just a short drive to the site.  Don’t remember paying for the entrance fee but make sure you have some coins to pay for parking.

My first glimpse of “the rock”

IMG_6849

My awkwardness shining through.  Apparently some tourists were taking my pictures while I was crawling. The surface was quite slippery.IMG_6862

IMG_7005Obviously I didn’t get the memo.

IMG_7023_2

Other rock formations nearby which are also part of Hyden Rock include the Hippos Yawn and The Humps IMG_6903

IMG_6929

My big thanks to Marissa and Jemasep for tagging me along.  I may not be a big rock freak but this rock is totally worth visiting.

Happy trails xoxo

Geri

 

