Real talk: I gained weight. Not Shallow Hal kind of weight gain but more like “I can’t fit in most of my clothes anymore” situation and I am quite petite so it’s quite noticeable when it happens.

collage

I was determined to do some more exercises and ‘eat healthier’ when I stumbled upon a link on youtube (while looking at cat videos) claiming to lose 10 lbs in 3 days. I didn’t pay much attention but when the blogger mentioned that she was eating ice cream I was all eyes and ears.

Basically she was reviewing The Military Diet, and after watching the full video, I checked the official website straight away.
Now I am not a nutritionist or a dietician but apparently, all the food combo sort of work together to help with your metabolism. I liked that the meals are very easy to prepare and most of the ingredients featured are not expensive and something that you probably have at home already.

The truth is, I’ve never tried a diet regimen before, mainly because most of the diet fads are way too complicated to follow and I love food. Like I think about food all the time. There is a running joke among my friends about how much I love my food but the ice cream made me do it! Lol.

I feel that this diet is more of a quick fix. For me personally, I decided to give this a go because I do believe it would help kick start my battle with portion control, basically to program my tummy for the next 3 days to not overeat.

I forwarded the website to my other friends and relatives that might benefit from doing this diet as well and last Tuesday, I began my very first diet in my food diary history.

I bought the whole Military Diet plan for less than $50 AUD and some of the foods will definitely last you more than 3 days (not included in the picture: cheddar cheese, green tea and bread).

image

Day 1, breakfast.
Tea or coffee
Half grapefruit
2 tbsp peanut butter
A slice of bread (preferably wholemeal)

image

Thoughts: I realised I forgot to buy wholemeal bread and had to settle with white flatbread. I don’t like bread in general and I really don’t like peanut butter (I gagged half way). No coffee for me because I get heart palpitations. The grapefruit saved this meal.

 

Day 1, lunch.
Tea or coffee
A small tin of tuna
A slice of bread

IMG_7754

Thoughts: I actually really enjoyed this lunch. I love tuna in olive oil blend and I got wholemeal bread with chia seeds this time that tasted quite nice. Not enough for me.

Day 1, dinner.
3 ounces of any meat
1 cup of green beans
1 apple
Half banana
A cup of vanilla ice cream

IMG_7761 IMG_7780

 

Thoughts: I love this diet! Lol! Love green beans, hate banana (good thing I only had to eat half), yay for ice cream.

Day 2, breakfast.
1 egg (cooked however you like)
A slice of bread
Half banana

IMG_7772

Thoughts: Banana was tolerable, enjoyed the eggs and bread.

Day 2: Lunch.
5 saltine crackers
1 hardboiled egg
A cup of cottage cheese

image image

Thoughts: This was when I started getting all upset about the whole diet thing, especially that I had to eat with someone that was having my fave Dolsot Bibimbap and I had 5 saltine crackers, 1 boiled egg and a small cup of cottage cheese. Talk about torture. It didn’t help that I am not a fan of these three. I was having the “I never thought I’d be one of those peeps that eat crackers while other people are eating real food” monologue, but when I got a text message from my other friend telling me that he lost 1.5kg on his second day doing the diet, I calmed the hell down.

Day 2, dinner.
2 hotdogs
1 cup of broccoli
1/2 cup carrots
1/2 banana
1/2 ice cream

IMG_7777 IMG_7779

 

Thoughts: I know hotdogs are not the healthiest but every time I have some, I’m always reminded of my childhood, it’s a staple breakfast/snack food back in my home country and I love that my plate looked really colourful.

Day 3, breakfast. (home stretch)
5 saltine crackers
a slice of cheddar cheese
1 apple

IMG_7781

Thoughts: Not a fan of saltine crackers but realised that eating cheddar cheese and apple alternately creates an interesting taste. Lol.

Day 3, lunch.
a slice of bread
1 egg (cooked however you like)

IMG_7786

Thoughts: Got super hungry and ate earlier than normal, was tempted to cheat but I kept telling myself, I’m almost done.

Day 3, dinner.
1 cup tuna
1/2 banana
1 cup ice cream

IMG_7790 IMG_7793

Thoughts: So I kept looking at the time and by around 4 pm I was going crazy already. I was starving. I managed to wait until 5pm. I mixed 2 small tins of tuna and I devoured the lot in less than 2 minutes. As usual I got to reward myself with ice cream and survived to live the tale.

 

My verdict?

The Military Diet works.  I didn’t weigh myself prior to doing the diet but I did measure my waistline and I’m happy to say I lost an inch off my waist 🙂

Please note that this diet is not for everyone (especially if you have allergies to some of the foods mentioned, see substitute list).

Will I do it again? I plan to do it one more time (after a four day break), in preparation for my birthday festivities.

Saying that I do believe maintaining a healthy weight is not difficult to achieve if you eat healthier, if you stay clear of processed foods, if you practice (reasonable) portion control, and if you include some form of exercises. Like I said earlier, The Military Diet is just a quick fix for me. I’m thinking of signing up to some barre classes and the other day I purchased this Mediterranean Diet Cookbook that was prepared/curated by a certified nutritionist/dietician Dr. Catherine Itsiopoulos.

IMG_7756

I love Mediterranean food so I’ll definitely be inspired to cook the recipes featured, but that my friends will have to be a different post.

Love,
Geri

