On our way to see the Grand Canyon a few years ago, we passed a little sleepy town called Seligman in Arizona. Now I could easily talk about the majestic Grand Canyon but I thought I’d write about Seligman instead because its history really fascinated me.

Yes, I do wear flats… once in a blue moon.

Hoover Dam, Arizona side

Before reaching Seligman, we passed by Hoover Dam.

Now if you’ve seen the Pixar movie Cars, the town of Radiator Springs is loosely based on Seligman. It’s said that Seligman used to be a popular stopover along the old U.S. Route 66 but literally vanished from the map with the construction of Interstate 40 bypassing it.

Do these “Cars” look familiar?

I did the mannequin challenge (with real mannequins) way before it was even a thing, lol!

Seligman’s story reminds me of those famous silent film actors that got tossed aside or whose star waned when the talkies came (oh hey, that plot was turned into a movie too!), but am glad Pixar thought Seligman’s backstory was pretty cool that they came up with this amazing movie that helped put the place back on the map.

Anyway, even though Seligman is not as popular like it was back in its heyday. I’m really hoping that this quirky little town (apparently it’s called census-designated place or CDP) won’t be forgotten again.

A sneak peak of the Grand Canyon that I’ll be posting some other time.

See ya later,
Geri

